Battlestar Galactica Miniseries

Read Bekki's response.  In fact, I'm going to encourage you to read Bekki's in addition to mine (if not instead of).  She's seen the series before, so her posts aren't going to be "HOLY CRAP" like mine probably will be.

General gist:  Cylons (which I have compared to Terminators and which Bekki says are more like I, Robot creatures) have come back to continue the war against humans.  Now they look like real people, which makes fighting them problematic–by the time you know they're Cylons, they could have easily killed you.

(See, Bekki?  TERMINATORS.)

This is about the survivors gathering together.  There are only 50,000 survivors (probably less, given that there are injuries and maybe radiation damage).

We've also learned that it's possible to be Cylons and not even know it.  They have sleeper agents that can be activated at any time.

Anyway.  The survivors think they're headed to Earth, although nobody really knows where it is (and it may be a legend).

Someone at the end is revealed to be a Cylon (not sure if she knows or if she's a sleeper agent).  I'm excited to see how that plays out. :)

Miniseries was good.  I'm hoping the series will be better, though; I'm not sure how well it can be sustained.  But a lot of people really love it, so here's hoping.

I really like Commander Adama; he gives good speeches.  I also like President Roslin.

I do not like Starbuck, but that could definitely be because she is on Nip/Tuck and is annoying and evil on there.  (So far, she's just annoying on BSG, but Bekki tells me she gets better and is actually awesome.  We shall see.)

As a final note, I am curious to see how long it is before I start using "So say we all" in everyday speech.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

11 thoughts on “Battlestar Galactica Miniseries

  1. I already use "so say we all" in regular speech. I like it better than "amen."
    Glad you like it so far… It'll be interesting to see what you think of the regular series.

  2. Hey, I didn't see one "Holy Crap!" (except the one time you said "Holy Crap" to make the point….).Most of the people I made watch the show were still a bit iffy after the Miniseries, but once they powered through it, and got to the episodes, life was good. I had a hard time keeping what I said short. (in case you were wondering, I didn't succeed.) Oh well. Enjoy my three scrolls on the history of BSG.Can you tell I've been re-reading Harry Potter too?

  3. Not her, no. I honestly thought I was right about there not really being another Cylon on board and that he brought it on because 6 really DID put a chip in his head.

  4. The revealed Cylon (I'm guessing we're not spoiler-divulging?) is my favorite character of the entire series.
    Also? I still don't like Starbuck, and I've seen all but the last season and a half.
    Sharon and Helo are my favorites, and Commander Adama. Also what's-his-name, whose name I forgot. Yes, I know, helpful. I'll remember at some random and completely irrelevant point, like at dinner. Or in the shower. Or I'll sit straight up in bed and say it and then go back to sleep.
    Wow. Too much sugar at lunch.

  5. Captain Apollo/Lee Adama?
    I do that, too. I'm really bad with names. (True story: the reason we are not spoiler divulging is because I actually forgot her name.)

  6. Heh. (We are talking Boomer, right? It's been forever since I saw the series.)
    And actually, I like Lee fine, but I was talking about Tyrol.

  7. I don't know that that part of Season 4 will make you like her more… I'm a big fan of the character and found those episodes to be unsatisfying re. her character's development, more or less.

Leave a comment