OscarPass (weekend before)

My mom and I watched Pain and Glory (Best Actor, Best International Feature), Parasite (Best Picture, Best Director, Best International Feature) and Marriage Story (Best Picture Director, Actor, Actress and Supporting Actress).

I really enjoyed all three movies, but loved Parasite and Marriage Story. In my perfect world, Parasite would win Best Picture and Marriage Story would win all three acting awards (I know it’s not getting Actor and Actress, but I thought both were amazing performances, especially from Adam Driver).

I thought that Marriage Story would be a lot sadder than it was (it’s not a happy movie, obviously, but I was expecting to be absolutely devastated and I wasn’t). Instead, it’s an absolute acting showcase and I’m glad it’s recognized by the Academy. It’s also one of the AFI’s 10 best of the year. (Parasite got a special recognition in that list, too.)

So Parasite. It’s completely unexpected and thought-provoking. I knew I’d like it and I really did. I don’t want to discuss it because spoilers.

All three were great and I’ll probably watch each multiple times. I’m working from home tonight today and tonight, I’m seeing 1917.

Leave a comment