Here I Go Again

Finished Here I Go Again by Jen Lancaster.  I received a copy from the publisher on Edelweiss.

Lissy Ryder may or may not have peaked in high school.  Back then, she was the Heather Duke (or Regina George, as you prefer) of her school.  Everyone feared her, even her boyfriend and best friends.  Now, though?  Her husband wants a divorce and her boss just fired her.  She’s back with her parents and, as an added bonus, her class reunion is coming up.

And it turns out that all the people she bullied are all crazy successful (as opposed to recently fired, newly single and living in their childhood bedrooms).

Then she gets a chance to turn it around and go back to high school.  But can you really change everything in two weeks?  Lissy’s about to find out.

LOVED THIS BOOK.  :)  It’s my first Jen Lancaster book (but so not my last).  It was incredibly funny and there were a ton of great references (including its very own Heathers reference.  Want me to love something?  Throw in a Heathers reference).

It also reminded me a little bit of an adult version of Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver.  (Book club note: read both and have the best discussion ever.)

It was also a pretty accurate portrayal of high school (except for the fact that their graduating class had a very high number of successful graduates, which seemed a little unrealistic…although my high school didn’t have very many bullies, so maybe that’s why none of us have exactly set the world on fire).  Lissy Ryder in high school was a very scary person.  And it was very sad to see her as a grownup, because she hadn’t gotten any better since high school.  She was very sarcastic—and yes, so am I, but she was very mean about it.  And it was like she never really understood that other people had feelings or were even really people/worth anything besides the way they could serve her.

But the transformation was great.  I always enjoy seeing people become the best versions of themselves and that’s what happened with Lissy.

Recommended.

 

Leave a comment