Best of 2012: Nonfiction

I don’t read as much nonfiction, so take this list for whatever it’s worth. :)

10) Because I Said So! by Ken Jennings. If I were a jerk, I would send copies to my friends’ kids (and my mom) with a note explaining that parents are wrong a lot. A LOT a lot.

9) Drop Dead Healthy by AJ Jacobs. My favorite quirky memoir author attempts to become the world’s healthiest man.

8) Girl Walks Into a Bar by Rachel Dratch. Incredibly funny book by the woman who was almost Jenna Maroney.

7) Rather Outspoken by Dan Rather. The memoir of someone who’s been behind so many major news stories–a complete legend and that is an understatement.

6) Bloom by Kelle Hampton. Beautiful story (with absolutely gorgeous pictures!) about a family with two girls, one of whom happens to have Down Syndrome.

5) Still by Lauren F. Winner. Amazing book about keeping the faith even when it seems like God isn’t there.

4) A Queer and Pleasant Danger by Kate Bornstein. I love her beyond all reason and this is her memoir. :)

3) Let’s Pretend This Never Happened by Jenny Lawson. Quirky but I dare you not to laugh at least 20 times.

2) Help, Thanks, Wow by Anne Lamott.  There are no words for how much I loved this one.

1) Red Letter Revolution by Shane Claiborne. Simply amazing.

Leave a comment