Dream More

Finished Dream More by Dolly Parton.

This book is a longer version of a commencement speech she gave and so obviously it’s very inspiring.

I’ll be honest, I don’t like country music very much…but I do love Dolly Parton.  I have some songs of hers on my iPod and I think she seems like literally one of the nicest, sweetest people ever.

I have reviews and blog posts scheduled in advance and honestly, I wasn’t going to read this book until early next year.  But I’m writing this on Friday, December 14 and I couldn’t focus on the book I was reading (it wasn’t BAD, not at all, but it was pretty grim.  And I can’t take any more grim) and so I thought, “What is the exact opposite of grim?”  And then I remembered that I bought this book.

So yes, I love Dolly Parton.  I’m pretty sure she’s the exact opposite of grim.  Don’t you think?

She has a four point plan for people: dream more, learn more, care more and be more.  Those are all pretty self-explanatory, I think.

But the general gist of the book really is that it’s our responsibility collectively to do our best both because it’s the way to a good, fulfilling life and because we owe it to each other.  Also (and this is tied in with “care more”), if you make something of yourself, help out those who will come after you.  For example, Dolly Parton doesn’t have kids (which is too bad, because I bet they’d be awesome) but she’s done all this work in her hometown to help the local kids.  (She told one class that if they graduated from high school, she’d give them each $500.  Which is a lot when you’re 18.  Or if you’re me.)

The truth is, we’re all in this together and there’s no reason not to help out if you can.

So while this book is very short (a shade over 120 pages), it’s still fun and inspiring.

Also, on an unrelated note, can I just say that in my mind, Dolly Parton is my BFF?  I think she’s just lovely and great.

Highly recommended.

 

Leave a comment