Happily Ever Afters

Finished Happily Ever Afters by Elise Bryant. I received a copy from the publisher.

Summary (from Goodreads):

“Jane the Virgin meets To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before in this charming debut romantic comedy filled with Black Girl Magic. Perfect for fans of Mary H. K. Choi and Nicola Yoon, with crossover appeal for readers of Jasmine Guillory and Talia Hibbert romances.

Sixteen-year-old Tessa Johnson has never felt like the protagonist in her own life. She’s rarely seen herself reflected in the pages of the romance novels she loves. The only place she’s a true leading lady is in her own writing—in the swoony love stories she shares only with Caroline, her best friend and #1 devoted reader.

When Tessa is accepted into the creative writing program of a prestigious art school, she’s excited to finally let her stories shine. But when she goes to her first workshop, the words are just…gone. Fortunately, Caroline has a solution: Tessa just needs to find some inspiration in a real-life love story of her own. And she’s ready with a list of romance novel-inspired steps to a happily ever after. Nico, the brooding artist who looks like he walked out of one of Tessa’s stories, is cast as the perfect Prince Charming.

But as Tessa checks off each item off Caroline’s list, she gets further and further away from herself. She risks losing everything she cares about—including the surprising bond she develops with sweet Sam, who lives across the street. She’s well on her way to having her own real-life love story, but is it the one she wants, after all?”

This book is such a delight to read! I absolutely loved Tessa and the way that she loves romance novels, even though she knows that they are heavily looked down upon. And when she realizes that the stories she adores don’t feature people who look like her, she decides to write her own. It’s something she’s passionate about and it’s also where her talent lies. Except once she gets into a prestigious school and its create writing program, she immediately stops being able to write. And that’s where the world’s silliest idea comes in.

Yes, you’ll know exactly how it ends. But you’ll also really love the entire journey. I can’t wait to read everything else Elise Bryant writes. She’s already wonderful.

Highly recommended.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s