Suggested Reading

Finished Suggested Reading by Dave Connis. I received a copy for review.

Summary (from Goodreads):

In this hilarious and thought-provoking contemporary teen standalone that’s perfect for fans of Moxie, a bookworm finds a way to fight back when her school bans dozens of classic and meaningful books.

Clara Evans is horrified when she discovers her principal’s “prohibited media” hit list. The iconic books on the list have been pulled from the library and aren’t allowed anywhere on the school’s premises. Students caught with the contraband will be sternly punished.

Many of these stories have changed Clara’s life, so she’s not going to sit back and watch while her draconian principal abuses his power. She’s going to strike back.

So Clara starts an underground library in her locker, doing a shady trade in titles like Speak and The Chocolate War. But when one of the books she loves most is connected to a tragedy she never saw coming, Clara’s forced to face her role in it.

Will she be able to make peace with her conflicting feelings, or is fighting for this noble cause too tough for her to bear?”

So you all know how I feel about books. Clara is one of my people. There’s even a chance she loves books even more than I do. (OK, probably not, but I bet we’re tied.)

I love this secret library and I love the way that she feels about books. But I think what I love the most is the way that we don’t know how what we do affects other people. Clara learns that in this book: dominoes fall, and we don’t always know just how far that reach goes.

If you’re a person who loves books and reading, talking about books, sharing books, crying because of books or even just wants something great to read, grab this one. You will be so glad you did.

(Banned books are the best books!)

Highly recommended. (It’s a 10/10 on the Read This, Liza & Amy Scale!)

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s