The Worst Post

My sweet boy Sammy is gone. 

Last year, as you know, he got really sick while I was at ALA; he almost died then. But he rallied and he fought, and he stayed alive for almost another entire year. 

Late last week, he stopped eating. Like his mom, Sam is very food-motivated, so once he stopped eating, I knew it was serious. Yesterday morning, he started getting really sick. I will spare you the details, but we went to the vet (me and my Sam and Sam’s favorite thing ever, his lying pillow). And now I am in my super empty, super quiet apartment. 

I know I did the best thing for him and that Sam can now see and run and eat all the food and chase all the animals and bark at ALL THE LOUD PEOPLE, all of which he loved to do. I got almost a whole extra year with him, and most of that time was spent together at least 98% of the day. 

My heart is broken but I am so grateful for those months together. And I am grateful that we were together at the end. He knew I was right there, and for a dog with separation anxiety*, I think that made it a little better. 

* = We were just happier together. 

5 thoughts on “The Worst Post

  1. Oh no! So sorry to hear this. I hope he is truly out there, somewhere, barking, eating and chasing all the squirrels to his heart’s content. (((HUGS)))

  2. Kelly, what an outstanding tribute to Sammy! We love you both and will greatly miss the Sammy stories! Yes, you did the right thing!

Leave a Reply

