All the Lives I Want

Finished All the Lives I Want by Alana Massey. I received a copy for review. 

The subtitle of this essay collection implies that it is a fun, frothy set essays on celebrity. Possibly it discusses the way that we feel we know celebrities, that they are our friends (or enemies) when all we know are their carefully created personas. 

Instead, these essays are about famous women we all have opnions on, including Britney Spears, Anna Nicole Smith and my beloved Winona Ryder. They take a more scholarly approach (think the sociology of celebrity) as well as a very personal relaying of their relationship to the author’s life. 

This is not the journey I expected to take but one I loved anyway. 

Leave a Reply

