The Wicked City

Finished The Wicked City by Beatriz Williams. I received a copy for review. 

This is impossible to describe but I’ll do my best. This book takes place in two time periods: present day (Ella left her husband after he cheated on her and moved into a building that may or may not be haunted) and Prohibition-era (Gen has moved to New York to escape her stepfather, who’s a bootlegger; she may or may not be the only person capable of bringing him down). The bulk of the novel is about Gen; she is FANTASTIC. 

I am a huge fan of Prohibition-era stories, probably for a mix of the excitement of speakeasies, the fun slang and the fact that the women are all complete badasses. 

This is only my second Beatriz Williams story and I want to read them all. The two I’ve read are quite different but they’re also both ridiculously entertaining. 

Recommended. 

Leave a Reply

