Interviewing Kathryn Ormsbee

Kathryn Ormsbee was kind enough to stop by and discuss her new novel, Tash Hearts Tolstoy (out June 6)!
What would the “Twitter pitch” for this novel be?
A seventeen-year-old ace teen encounters fame, fun, and many a fracas after her Tolstoy-inspired web series goes viral. 
Would you like to be internet famous, and if so, for what?

Oh, heck no. Ha! Fame is such a volatile thing, and it can get especially brutal on the internet. Some people can deal, but me? I wouldn’t wish internet fame on my worst enemy. If I did get internet famous against my will, though, I’d want it to be a viral video of me scaling a building in order to save a cardboard boxful of puppies from imminent doom. 
The main character is asexual. Why did you make that choice? (And I think that’s awesome; we see a lot of gay and trans characters now, relatively speaking; not so many bi or asexual ones.)

Simply put, I wrote Tash Hearts Tolstoy to be the book I never had as a young adult. Your teen years are full of growing and questioning and questioning more, and it’s hard to figure out your sexual identity when you don’t see your story anywhere on paper. I wrote Tash to be a reflection of the world I see and the people I know. And I hope there are many more books featuring ace and demi main characters coming out soon! WE NEED THEM. 

What are you reading now?
I’m just finishing up Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo, and I won’t give any spoilers here, but ugh, the feels. I’m also reading Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit by Jaye Robin Brown and loving it to pieces. Lastly, I travel quite a bit, so I’m always listening to an audiobook. This week, it’s Word by Word by Anne Lamott. 

If you could make one book mandatory, what would it be?

Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh
What are your five favorite books? (You can do authors, if that’s easier.)

Persuasion by Jane Austen

Matilda by Roald Dahl 

Tuck Everlasting by Natalie Babbitt

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky 

East of Eden by John Steinbeck 

What 2017 releases are you excited for?

ARGH SO MANY. I will limit my response to five titles, which should all be read with MUCH enthusiasm.
The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee 

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli 

I Believe in a Thing Called Love by Maurene Goo 

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon   

Leave a Reply

