Interviewing Peter Swanson

Peter Swanson was kind enough to stop by and discuss Her Every Fear (out January 10). 

1) What’s the Twitter pitch?
 When Kate Priddy swaps apartments for six months with a second cousin she doesn’t know, she begins to worry that she’s living the apartment of a killer.
2) Why did you choose to do multiple points of view?
The story dictated it. Originally, I was just going to tell everything through Kate’s point of view, but then I realized that in order to tell the whole story I needed other voice’s as well. In the end, I was really happy that the story is told through several different viewpoints.
3) Can you share the first sentence?
Sure. “The fastest route from Logan Airport to downtown Boston is a mile-long tunnel called the Sumner.”
And the four I ask everyone:
4) What 2017 releases are you excited for?
Will there be a new Cormoran Strike novel from Robert Galbraith/J.K. Rowling? If so, I’m definitely excited for that.
5) What are you reading?
I am currently reading the insanely entertaining second novel in the Joe Goldberg series by Caroline Kepnes. It is called Hidden Bodies.
6) If you could make one book mandatory, what would it be?
I used to work at a bookstore, and when customers asked for my number one recommendation I would always recommend Lonesome Dove, Larry McMurtry’s western novel that clocks in at about a thousand pages. Most wouldn’t take me up on it, but those who did would often come back to say how much they loved it. It really should be a contender for great American novel.
7) What are your five favorite books? You can do authors if that’s easier.
My five favorite authors are Kingsley Amis, John D. MacDonald, Stephen King, Ira Levin and Barbara Pym. That list will probably change next week.

Leave a Reply

