Carry On, Warrior

Finished Carry On, Warrior by Glennon Doyle Melton. 

I am at loose ends. I don’t have a job, my severance has run out, I haven’t gotten an interview in two weeks and unemployment is not very much money. I am freaking out. 

And then my best friend sent me Love Warrior and, like a raft, the answer came: read it. Read Glennon’s other book, too. Read Cheryl Strayed. Read Anne Lamott. It won’t get you a job, but it’s harder to be afraid when you’re reading wisdom. (And I’m waiting for publishers to send the other Cybils books anyway, so…)

You’ve all read this, right? You don’t need me to talk you into it, do you?

Carry On, Warrior is exactly what I needed. It’s like sitting down with a friend and being told that it’ll all work out. Of course it will. So now I need to read some Momastery. And maybe she’ll write another book. Maybe soon. 

Highly recommended. 

Leave a Reply

