The Sun is Also a Star

Finished The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon. I received a copy from the publisher for review. This review will be posted again closer to the release date. 

This review is essentially exclamation points and heart emojis. I’m not sure I have the words to do it justice but I will try. 

Natasha and Daniel view the world very differently–he’s a romantic and she’s a realist. He’s Korean-American and about to apply to Yale to be a doctor (his parents’ dream, not his). She is from Jamaica and about to be deported with her family (literally about to be deported; it’ll happen that night). 
This book reminded me of Before Sunrise in all the best ways: two people meet and have an immediate connection but you know there’s no way it can last. (I hope we get sequels and that those sequels won’t be a decade apart.)
Nicola Yoon is one of the best authors writing today and her books are pure magic. I cannot wait to see what she does next. And I hope it’ll be soon. 
Highly recommended. 

Leave a Reply

