Hex

Finished Hex by Thomas Olde Heuvelt. I received a copy for review. 

Okay, first this book is horrifying. I feel infected by it and I’m pretty sure it will take a long time before I can wake up in the middle of the night and not think about Katherine, the Black Rock Witch. 

Black Spring is a haunted town. Its inhabitants are all aware of the Black Rock Witch, a woman so scary that her eyes and lips are sewn shut. Residents know better than to touch her (you’ll die if you do) and if you hear her whispers, you’ll kill yourself. And I don’t mean an easy or pretty death, either. There will be blood and pain. You can’t just leave town. If you’re gone for too long, you’ll commit suicide. 
It’s also a big secret and if you tell outsiders about the witch, you’ll suffer. Except now Black Spring’s teenagers want to tell people. And it’s not a spoiler to say things don’t go well for them. 
Oh, guys. This book scared the crap out of me. I went from intrigued to creeped out to honestly terrified. And now I am in my hometown, watching the shadows lengthen and I am hallucinating whispers. (I hope I am.)
Read this if you dare but do it with the lights on. 
Note: this is translated. Apparently the original ending is different. If you read the Dutch version, please let me know how that ended. 
Highly recommended. 

Leave a Reply

