Spontaneous

Finished Spontaneous by Aaron Starmer. I received a copy for review. 

I absolutely love the premise of this novel (seniors at one high school start spontaneously combusting). No one knows what’s going on or how to stop it (think Conversion or The Fever). 

Our narrator is Mara, the world’s surliest girl. This actually helps because I’m not sure I could handle someone with actual feelings telling me about teenagers literally exploding. 
That’s probably why this book didn’t entirely work for me–I should feel something about this, right? But no. I didn’t know most of the teens who died and so it was basically just, “Well, that’s unfortunate.”
I did finish to see if we ever learn what caused this or if they stopped it. (No spoilers, though.)

Leave a Reply

