Secrets, Lies & Scandals

Finished Secrets, Lies & Scandals by Amanda K. Morgan.  I received a copy from the publisher for review.

Summary (from Goodreads):

In the tradition of I Know What You Did Last Summer and How to Get Away with Murder, five teens must overcome their paranoia in order to keep their teacher’s death a secret in this fast-paced suspense thriller.

Nothing ruins summer vacation like a secret…especially when it involves a dead teacher.

Ivy used to be on top of the social ladder, until her ex made that all go away. She has a chance to be Queen Bee again, but only if the rest of the group can keep quiet.

Tyler has always been a bad boy, but lately he’s been running low on second chances. There’s no way he’s going to lose everything because someone couldn’t keep their mouth shut.

Kinley wouldn’t describe herself as perfect, though everyone else would. But perfection comes at a price, and there is nothing she wouldn’t do to keep her perfect record—one that doesn’t include murder charges.

Mattie is only in town for the summer. He wasn’t looking to make friends, and he definitely wasn’t looking to be involved in a murder. He’s also not looking to be riddled with guilt for the rest of his life…but to prevent that he’ll have to turn them all in.

Cade couldn’t care less about the body, or about the pact to keep the secret. The only way to be innocent is for someone else to be found guilty. Now he just has to decide who that someone will be.

With the police hot on the case, they don’t have much time to figure out how to trust each other. But in order to take the lead, you have to be first in line…and that’s the quickest way to get stabbed in the back.”

When it’s summer, I turn to two specific types of books: thrillers and what used to be called “chick lit.” Those are my two favorite genres for “vacation books,” whether or not I am actually lucky enough to be on vacation. 

This one is a suspense novel, something that reads like I Know What You Did Last Summer. It’s about a group of classmates who accidentally kill their teacher (no big loss; that guy was a complete jerk) and who manage to get away with it—they think. 
There are a lot of twists and turns with this and I couldn’t wait to see what happened and who was behind everything.
I am not sure how I feel about the ending but I very much enjoyed everything else. 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s