Read Me Like a Book

9780763681319

Finished Read Me Like a Book by Liz Kessler.  I received a copy from the publisher for review.

Summary (from Goodreads):

Ashleigh Walker is in love. You know the feeling – that intense, heart-racing, all-consuming emotion that can only come with first love. It’s enough to stop her worrying about bad grades at college. Enough to distract her from her parents’ marriage troubles. There’s just one thing bothering her . . .

Shouldn’t it be her boyfriend, Dylan, who makes her feel this way – not Miss Murray, her English teacher?

A thought-provoking coming out story from a highly skilled author.”

Oh wow, this could so have been my coming out story.  It’s not 100% the same, and I came out in college but there are a lot of similarities here.  (It made reading this book both really entertaining/nostalgic and very weird/uncomfortable.)

And you guys, this book.  It completely captures how it feels to realize you’re gay and that you have to tell people.  (And the weird “I did not see this coming” feeling.)

I planned to read a chapter or two before bed and ended up reading the whole thing.  Ash reminded me of me but also immediately felt like a friend.  I wanted to know her entire story, and now I’m so curious about what happened next.

Here are the other stops on the tour:

Official Blog Tour Stops:

6/14 YA Book Central

6/15 My Mercurial Musings

6/16 Hopelessly Devoted Bibliophile

6/17 Mayor of Bookopolis

6/18 I Read Banned Books

6/19 Forever Literary

6/20 Word Spelunking

6/21 My Books Views

6/22 Kelly Vision

6/23 Swoony Boys Podcast

6/24 Reviews Comin At YA

6/25 Comfort Books

6/26 Satisfaction for Insatiable Reader

6/27 Just a Cat and a Book by her Side

6/28 The Reading Date

6/29 Forever YA

6/30 Musing Librarian reviews

7/1 Randomly Reading

 

Leave a Reply

