Lucky Few

Finished Lucky Few by Kathryn Ormsbee.  I received a copy from the publisher for review.

Summary (from Goodreads):

In the tradition of Me and Earl and the Dying Girl comes a hilarious, madcap, and quirky debut novel about a group of oddball teens struggling to find themselves when facing their own mortality.

The life of homeschooler Stevie Hart gets all shook up when she meets a strange boy, Max, who survived a freak near-fatal accident and is now obsessed with death. He enlists her and her best friend, Sanger, to help him complete his absurd “23 Ways to Fake My Death Without Dying” checklist. What starts off as fun begins spiraling downward when Stevie’s diabetes sabotages her fumbling romance with Max, Sanger announces she’s moving out of state, and then death—real death—cuts close to home.”

This book was exactly what I needed.  I knew immediately that it would become a new favorite of mine, and it did.

Okay, first, as you may be able to glean from the synopsis, this is a dark comedy.  It’s not super dark, but there are a lot of fake deaths.  (And a few real emergencies—not a spoiler; it’s in the synopsis.)

I love Stevie (and the fact that her best friend Sanger calls her “Nicks”).  Actually, Nicks and Sanger are my favorite part of this book.  They’re pop culture savvy (especially Sanger, who has a love of cinema that rivals my own) and their friendship is the actual definition of #squadgoals (at least for me).

And of course there’s Stevie and Max.  I love their relationship, too; it’s sweet and also incredibly funny.  It’s the definition of “imperfect people who are perfect together.”

I loved every single thing—literally—about this book.  Highly recommended.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s