Hairspray

Why I picked Hairspray: I hadn’t seen the musical in a while and, again, I met John Waters yesterday.

Seen before? Yes

Would I watch again? Yes

I’m really weak on musicals and thought that I might as well brush up on some and watch some John Waters at the same time.  (I’m hoping to rewatch Cry-Baby sometime soon, too.)

I should rewatch the real Hairspray soon, too.

I love all the John Waters movies I’ve seen (which, for a pop culture fan living in Baltimore, is not as many as it should be) but I have a special fondness for this one.  It’s not my favorite, but it’s the one that probably speaks to me the most because it’s not only sweet and funny, but there’s also this major theme of social justice.  AND John Travolta does a pretty sweet Baltimore accent.

Leave a Reply

