Death Becomes Her

Why I picked Death Becomes Her: I love Meryl Streep but I realized that I keep watching her later movies (Devil Wears Prada, especially) but I never watch her work from the 80s and 90s. 

Seen before? Yes, but not in years

Would I recommend? Maybe. It’s pretty fun but not really that good

Here’s an interesting thing about Meryl Streep: her early movies are critically acclaimed (Deer Hunter, Kramer vs. Kramer, Silkwood) and a lot of her later ones are ALSO critically acclaimed and almost guaranteed to come with Oscar nods. And in between, especially in the 1980s and 1990s, there’s a lot of less than stellar movies. (Although I do have a ridiculous fondness for The River Wild.)

And here’s a more interesting thing about Meryl Streep: she is the only actress I can think of who can’t deliver a bad performance. Death Becomes Her is not a good movie, but she makes it really fun and watchable. With most actresses, you can really see how the director and script change their ability to give a good performance. (My go to example is Natalie Portman. Compare her in the Star Wars sequels to Black Swan, and it’s hard to believe it’s the same actress.) But Meryl Streep? Always fantastic, always believable. 

Leave a Reply

