My Best Friend’s Exorcism

Finished My Best Friend’s Exorcism by Grady Hendrix.  I received a copy from the publisher for review.

Summary (from Goodreads):

Abby and Gretchen have been best friends since fifth grade, when they bonded over a shared love of E.T., roller-skating parties, and scratch-and-sniff stickers. But when they arrive at high school, things change. Gretchen begins to act…different. And as the strange coincidences and bizarre behavior start to pile up, Abby realizes there’s only one possible explanation: Gretchen, her favorite person in the world, has a demon living inside her. And Abby is not about to let anyone or anything come between her and her best friend. With help from some unlikely allies, Abby embarks on a quest to save Gretchen. But is their friendship powerful enough to beat the devil?

I didn’t read Grady Hendrix’s first novel, Horrorstor, but I’ve heard excellent things.  I’m also going to need to change that, because this book freaked me out on a very visceral level.

A blurb said it was The Exorcist meets Heathers, and I can absolutely see that.  Except picture it as being Heathers, just slowly getting darker and darker and darker until all of a sudden, you realize you’ve been seriously terrified for the past several chapters and it’s late and you should sleep but it’s at a scary part and you just know that it is not a good idea to stop there, so you keep reading because you’re scared to stop reading and scared to keep reading and the only way out is through, so you keep going.

And that probably makes it sound like I didn’t like the book, except I absolutely loved it.  It was an incredibly fun (and terrifying) novel.

And I recommend it to anyone who doesn’t get scared too easily.  (I don’t and this one did it.)

Highly recommended.

One thought on “My Best Friend’s Exorcism

Leave a Reply

