When We Collided

Finished When We Collided by Emery Lord.

Summary (from Goodreads):

Meet Vivi and Jonah: A girl and a boy whose love has the power save or destroy them.

Vivi and Jonah couldn’t be more different. Vivi craves anything joyful or beautiful that life can offer. Jonah has been burdened by responsibility for his family ever since his father died. As summer begins, Jonah resigns himself to another season of getting by. Then Vivi arrives, and suddenly life seems brighter and better. Jonah is the perfect project for Vivi, and things finally feel right for Jonah. Their love is the answer to everything. But soon Vivi’s zest for life falters, as her adventurousness becomes true danger-seeking. Jonah tries to keep her safe, but there’s something important Vivi hasn’t told him.

Perfect for fans of E. Lockhart and Jandy Nelson, When We Collided is a powerful story of two teens whose love is put to the test by forces beyond their control.”

I honestly don’t know what to even say about this book.  First, you should know that it’s a pretty big departure from Emery Lord’s earlier books.  While this is also a love story and one that deals just as much with non-romantic relationships, there’s also a major focus on weightier topics: grieving and mental illness.

This book absolutely broke my heart, guys.  It put it in a wood chipper like in Fargo, to be more precise.  And at the same time, it gave me so much hope for what will end up happening with Jonah and Vivi (separately and together).  It won’t be an easy journey, but I have no doubt that it will be an amazing one.  I have never hoped for a sequel the way I hope for this one, because I don’t want to never spend time with these people again.

I fell in love so fast with Jonah and Vivi but also with Jonah’s siblings and Vivi’s mom.  I love how Emery Lord writes “supporting” characters but makes them so vivid that you wish that you could get a book about each of them, too.

Just…just read this book.  It’s so important and so necessary.  And if you don’t understand grieving people or people with mental illness, ESPECIALLY read this book.  (And if you understand one or both of them all too well, you also need to read this book.  Basically everyone needs this book.)

Highly recommended.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s