Don’t Get Caught

Finished Don’t Get Caught by Kurt Dinan.  I received a copy for review from the author.

Summary (from Goodreads):

Max Cobb is sick of being “Just Max”—the kind of guy whose resume boasts a measly 2.5 GPA and a deep love of heist films. So when an invitation appears in his locker to join the anonymous, untraceable, epic prank-pulling Chaos Club, Max jumps at the opportunity.

Except that the invite is really a setup, and Max, plus the four other misfits who received similar invitations, are apprehended by school security for defacing the water tower. Max has finally had enough. It’s time for payback. Time to unmask Chaos. Let the prank war begin.”

There are really no words for how much I loved this book.   It’s not a surprise because it’s been pitched as Ocean’s 11 meets The Breakfast Club, two of my most favorite things.

It’s not exactly a secret that I love heist movies.  Give me a team of people and a target and I’m a happy person.  In fact, sometimes I love thinking about what I’d target given some friends and an opportunity…but probably best not to keep discussing that, right?

Anyway.  So Max and I would be really good friends, I bet, because he’s the exact same way.  Except Max puts his heist-mind to use planning pranks.  (And fun fact: he’s really good at it.  I wouldn’t want to be on his bad side.)  I don’t want to be more specific because the pranks are incredibly clever and fun, and I don’t want to ruin any of the book’s surprises for you.  So just buy it and read it now, and then we’ll discuss.

This works as a standalone but there’s also good potential for a sequel.  Please God, let there be a sequel.  :)  I would love to know what happens next!  Either way, I’m in for whatever Kurt Dinan writes in the future.

Highly recommended.

Leave a Reply

