My Kind of Crazy

Mykindofcrazy

Finished My Kind of Crazy by Robin Reul.  I received a copy from the publisher for review. In the interest of full disclosure, Robin is my friend, and was before I read this.  You will be happy to know that I plan to use our friendship to coerce her to write many more books.

You can enter to win one of three copies! Click here to do that; good luck!

Summary (from Goodreads):

Despite the best of intentions, seventeen-year old, wisecracking Hank Kirby can’t quite seem to catch a break. It’s not that he means to screw things up all the time, it just happens. A lot. Case in point: his attempt to ask out the girl he likes literally goes up in flames when he spells “Prom” in sparklers on her lawn…and nearly burns down her house.

As if that wasn’t bad enough, Peyton Breedlove, a brooding loner and budding pyromaniac, witnesses the whole thing. Much to Hank’s dismay, Peyton takes an interest in him—and his “work.” The two are thrust into an unusual friendship, but their boundaries are tested when Hank learns that Peyton is hiding some dark secrets, secrets that may change everything he thought he knew about Peyton.”

LINKS: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | Indiebound | iBooks | The Book Depository

I know that it’s really lazy to compare books to movies and to be like, “Oh, this is just like [whatever].”  I know.  But while reading this, it felt like I was watching a John Hughes movie.  Which is really weird because I know those movies so well that there aren’t really surprises in them and everything about this book felt like the best kind of surprise.

But this struck the feeling that I have with his movies, the weird combination of people being just as flawed and weird and (to sub from the title) crazy as they are in real life mixed with the idea of people being better than they tend to be in real life.

I don’t want to talk about Hank or Peyton or Amanda (although I will point you to Some Kind of Wonderful—which I prefer to Pretty in Pink because Duckie is a scourge) or any of the plot because you should discover it as I did, as Robin Reul reveals it, page by page.  So I’ll just be over here flailing.

(Basically this book gave me what Liz Lemon would probably call literary-transmitted crazymouth.)  You need to read it.  I’m so happy I got to. :)

Highly recommended.

Robin Reul

ABOUT ROBIN REUL:

Robin Reul has been writing since she was in early elementary school, when she used to make her own book club flyers for her classmates and then pen them original stories. Though she grew up on movie sets and worked for many years in the film and television industry both as an actress and in motion picture development, she ultimately decided to focus her attention on writing young adult novels. She likes to write the same kinds of stories she loved as a teen: the ones that give her with butterflies in her stomach and are filled with quirky, memorable characters who stay with the reader long after the story ends. When she’s not writing, Robin can be found singlehandedly driving up the profit margin of her local Starbucks and indulging her love of baked goods, particularly those in the key of pumpkin. She lives in Los Angeles suburbia with her husband, son and daughter.

LINKS: Website | Twitter | Facebook

2 thoughts on “My Kind of Crazy

Leave a Reply

