All Better Now

Finished All Better Now by Emily Wing Smith.  I received a copy from the publisher for review.

Summary (from Goodreads):

I ask myself: how am I living still?
And how I ask it depends on the day.

All her life, Emily has felt different from other kids. Between therapist visits, sudden uncontrollable bursts of anger, and unexplained episodes of dizziness and loss of coordination, things have always felt not right. For years, her only escape was through the stories she’d craft about herself and the world around her. But it isn’t until a near-fatal accident when she’s twelve years old that Emily and her family discover the truth: a grapefruit sized benign brain tumor at the base of her skull.

In turns candid, angry, and beautiful, Emily Wing Smith’s captivating memoir chronicles her struggles with both mental and physical disabilities during her childhood, the devastating accident that may have saved her life, and the means by which she coped with it all: writing.”

I’m keeping this intentionally vague so I don’t spoil anything. I get that that’s a weird thing for a memoir, but trust me—you don’t want to know anything going in.

This is such an interesting memoir.  I’d read and enjoyed Emily Wing Smith’s YA novels and I absolutely admire her.  It would be so easy for her to be negative, but this book was overwhelmingly positive and even funny.

(It probably helps that awkward and quiet are my people.)

It’s also pretty fantastic to see her find her friends.  I wish it had gone on a little farther and shared her path to publication and her inspiration, but maybe that means that there will be a sequel? Please say yes.

Recommended.

Leave a Reply

