This Is Where the World Ends

Finished This is Where the World Ends by Amy Zhang.  I received a copy from the publisher for review.

Summary (from Goodreads):

Janie and Micah, Micah and Janie. That’s how it’s been ever since elementary school, when Janie Vivien moved next door. Janie says Micah is everything she is not. Where Micah is shy, Janie is outgoing. Where Micah loves music, Janie loves art. It’s the perfect friendship—as long as no one finds out about it. But then Janie goes missing and everything Micah thought he knew about his best friend is colored with doubt.

Using a nonlinear writing style and dual narrators, Amy Zhang reveals the circumstances surrounding Janie’s disappearance in a second novel.”

I absolutely loved Amy Zhang’s first book so my expectations for this one were insanely high.  This one didn’t work for me as much, but there is still a lot to love here.

It’s incredibly smart and I feel like her biggest strength as an author is to write incredibly flawed characters that you still can’t help but love and cheer for.  It’s very hard to do, and the way that it’s done here makes it all seem absolutely effortless.

I felt like I absolutely understood Micah, but Janie seemed like the manicpixiedreamgirl that’s all the rage right now (and is, I think, starting to get more than a bit of a backlash).

Even so, I couldn’t stop reading and I was absolutely desperate to figure out (a) what happened to Janie and (b) if Micah knew more than he was letting on.

The revelations hit like punches to the gut.

And I cannot wait to see what Amy Zhang does next.

Leave a Reply

