Front Lines

FL Blog Tour Banner

Finished Front Lines by Michael Grant.  I received a copy from the publisher for review. Click here to enter one of three copies!

Front Lines Cover

Summary (from Goodreads):

Perfect for fans of The Book Thief and Code Name Verity, New York Times bestselling author Michael Grant unleashes an epic, genre-bending, and transformative new series that reimagines World War II with girl soldiers fighting on the front lines.

World War II, 1942. A court decision makes women subject to the draft and eligible for service. The unproven American army is going up against the greatest fighting force ever assembled, the armed forces of Nazi Germany.

Three girls sign up to fight. Rio Richlin, Frangie Marr, and Rainy Schulterman are average girls, girls with dreams and aspirations, at the start of their lives, at the start of their loves. Each has her own reasons for volunteering: Rio fights to honor her sister; Frangie needs money for her family; Rainy wants to kill Germans. For the first time they leave behind their homes and families—to go to war.

These three daring young women will play their parts in the war to defeat evil and save the human race. As the fate of the world hangs in the balance, they will discover the roles that define them on the front lines. They will fight the greatest war the world has ever known.”

LINKS: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | iBooks | The Book Depository

I generally avoid military and war stories but had heard good things about this book so I took a chance. I’m so happy I did; this book is amazing.

This is set in an alternate past where women were allowed to fight in World War II.  Three different women signed up (well, teen girls; and yes, there are more than three but we focus on three) and they each believed that they would have safer jobs.  Nope—they’re sent to the front.  And it’s terrifying and dangerous, but they also manage to be pretty good at what they’re doing.  And it’s inspiring.

Best of all, it’s the first book in a series! I can’t wait to see what happens next.

Highly recommended.

Michael Grant

ABOUT MICHAEL GRANT:

Okay, trying this again. Goodreads lost the bio I just spent 30 minutes writing. So now it’s just going to be incoherent rambling. Yes, the earlier draft was also incoherent rambling, but way better.

I’m the co-author or author of about 160 books, including the ANIMORPHS series, the GONE series, the BZRK series, the MAGNIFICENT 12 series (Mommy, make him stop saying series!), the MESSENGER OF FEAR series, and soon (well, eventually) the SOLDIER GIRL series.

The best way to reach me is at Twitter @MichaelGrantBks. I’ll be honest: I keep forgetting there’s mail here. Here’s the thing: I don’t have an assistant or a staff. I would, but then I’d have to hire someone and train someone and give them stuff to do, and relate to them as a human being, possibly even care about them. I’m exhausted just thinking about it.

But if my handle is in the Tweet, I read it. And once or twice a week I go on at random times to chat with fans. I love my fans, but it’s either be honest with you and be my actual self on Twitter, or fob you off on some assistant, and how would that be better? I already have my father-in-law handling email from my ancient website. I’d rather be harder to write to but really be me, and really talk to you, if that makes sense.

Honestly, if it was up to me and I had the time we could all just hang out at random Starbucks. Or if you’re over 21, a pleasant cocktail lounge perhaps. At some point there would be ice cream. There must always, at some point in the day, be ice cream.

I also have a personal Facebook page at AuthorMichaelGrant, but that’s limited to 5000 friends and apparently I actually have that many. Who knew? But I leave it public so if I have something to say I’ll do it there.

I hope you’ll give my books a try. If you don’t like one, that’s cool, I don’t like every book I read, either. But maybe give them a try. People seem to like them.

Now, my publishers want me to sell you on my stuff, so I’ll do two brags: 1) Everything I write is like nothing you’ve ever read before in young adult literature. I don’t copy, I don’t imitate, I don’t clone. 2) I know how to end a series.

And that’s my advertisement. Thank you. 

LINKS: Website | Twitter | Facebook

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s