The Darkest Secret

Finished The Darkest Secret by Alex Marwood.  I received a copy from the publisher for review.  It’s not out until August 30 here in the States, but you can buy the UK version from the Book Depository now.

Summary (from Goodreads):

Taut, emotive and utterly compelling, an unputdownable ‘ripped from headlines’ read from Alex Marwood, author of the huge word-of-mouth bestseller, The Wicked Girls.

When three-year-old identical twin Coco goes missing during a family celebration, there is a media frenzy. Her parents are rich and influential, as are the friends they were with at their holiday home by the sea.

But what really happened to Coco during her father’s 50th birthday weekend?

Set across two weekends – the first when Coco goes missing and the second, at the funeral of Coco’s father, where at last, the darkest of secrets will be revealed…”

This is my first book by Alex Marwood but it won’t be my last.  (Fortunately, I even own the other two books—book hoarding is a real problem for me, except for when it pays off like now.)

I have a lot of friends who are incredibly into mysteries and they’ve been raving about her for years now.  When I started this, I thought that it was good but I didn’t get the absolute obsessive love my friends had.  And then I kept reading.  By the time I reached the ending (which actually took my breath away), I completely got it.

This sounds like the kind of story where you know where it’s going, right?  Accidental death, completely covered up? Or maybe the little girl was kidnapped by a stranger.  Maybe she’s dead; maybe she’s alive.  But you feel pretty confident about your thoughts and you think that you’re running a few steps ahead of the plot…and then all of a sudden, you realize how much you’re wrong.

(Oh guys, I love when that happens.)

Basically it just comes down to this: read this book.  Don’t even wait for the release date.  Get it now from The Book Depository.  Then, when everyone here is raving about it, you can smile smugly and say, “Yeah, I know.  I read it back in January and it was excellent.”

Highly recommended.

Leave a Reply

