Passenger

Finished Passenger by Alexandra Bracken.  I received a copy from the publisher for review.

Summary (from Goodreads):

passage, n.
i. A brief section of music composed of a series of notes and flourishes.
ii. A journey by water; a voyage.
iii. The transition from one place to another, across space and time.

In one devastating night, violin prodigy Etta Spencer loses everything she knows and loves. Thrust into an unfamiliar world by a stranger with a dangerous agenda, Etta is certain of only one thing: she has traveled not just miles but years from home. And she’s inherited a legacy she knows nothing about from a family whose existence she’s never heard of. Until now.

Nicholas Carter is content with his life at sea, free from the Ironwoods—a powerful family in the colonies—and the servitude he’s known at their hands. But with the arrival of an unusual passenger on his ship comes the insistent pull of the past that he can’t escape and the family that won’t let him go so easily. Now the Ironwoods are searching for a stolen object of untold value, one they believe only Etta, Nicholas’ passenger, can find. In order to protect her, he must ensure she brings it back to them— whether she wants to or not.

Together, Etta and Nicholas embark on a perilous journey across centuries and continents, piecing together clues left behind by the traveler who will do anything to keep the object out of the Ironwoods’ grasp. But as they get closer to the truth of their search, and the deadly game the Ironwoods are play­ing, treacherous forces threaten to sep­arate Etta not only from Nicholas but from her path home . . . forever.”

The thing with Passenger is that I loved the love story between Etta and Nicholas so much more than I did the actual main plot of the story.  (Although I enjoyed that aspect too, and definitely am desperate to get my hands on the sequel to Passenger, which I’m pretty sure doesn’t even have a release date yet beyond “fall.”)

I think this may just be a duology, too, which means there’s a lot that needs to happen in the sequel.

Okay, but you’re here to hear about Passenger, right?  Okay.  So there are aspects of this book that remind me of The Da Vinci Code, except really, really good.  (There are cryptic clues that lead throughout history.)  And obviously there’s time travel, but this is a different sort of time travel than we’re used to.  It’s deliberate (you have to enter passages) but the rules are a little different.  You can’t travel to the time and place you live in, because you can’t encounter yourself. (Obviously the “you can’t encounter yourself” is new, but generally time travelers are just really careful about where they go and what they do, right?)

This book absolutely won me over and I cannot wait to read the sequel, Wayfarer.

Recommended.

 

2 thoughts on “Passenger

  1. So I’ve encountered the “you can’t encounter yourself” thing in almost all the time travel books I’ve read. It messes with the “time – space continuum” thing! LOL! In any case, I ended up liking this. It was quite slow for me for the first 50%. One thing that I didn’t like were all the flashbacks within flashbacks. I actually had a hard time realizing I was back in the present with the characters when Bracken returned me there. You would think the time travel was more confusing, but it wasn’t. I am interested to see where it goes. I’m iffy on the romance, to much ints-love type stuff for me. But I’d like to see how Etta and Nick solve their time dilemma. Glad you enjoyed it!

    1. No, I get that you can’t encounter yourself. That’s not new. But the fact that you can’t even travel to a place where you MIGHT encounter yourself—that’s new. :)

Leave a Reply

