Interviewing Kristy Acevedo

Kristy Acevedo was nice enough to stop by and talk about Consider!

If Consider were to have a signature drink, what would it be?
Since the 17-year-old main character takes anti-anxiety medication, I’m thinking the signature drink would have to be a cup of tea.
 
If you were faced with that choice (stay or go), which would you pick?
That is a personal decision readers will face as they experience the story.
Having said that, I’d probably go early. I hate being late for events; I’m notorious for arriving way too early and waiting in my car.
 
Can you share the first sentence/paragraph?

Excerpted from CONSIDER by Kristy Acevedo. Copyright ©2016 by Kristy Acevedo. Excerpted by permission of Jolly Fish Press, LLC. All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.

CHAPTER 1

Day 1-August

When the Boston outbound T screeches to a stop, I lose my grip on the silver pole and slam into Dominick. His black rimmed glasses twist on his face, but he retrieves my purse from the floor before straightening them.

Want to read more (YES YOU DO)? Click here to visit Kristy’s site for the rest of chapter 1!

 
What was the inspiration for Consider?
 
During Christmas vacation 2013, I planned to work on a different manuscript, but I couldn’t find the motivation. After a few days of binge watching Doctor Who on Netflix, I took a shower to shake off the funk of not writing like I had promised myself.
Since I was angry and bitter, I turned my anger towards the writers of Doctor Who. (Don’t get me wrong here, I am a huge fan.) As I washed my hair, I decided that despite the awesome adventures, the series has a major flaw–why would any sane person go into the TARDIS? It’s absurd! Come on, if a TARDIS appeared outside and a strange man calling himself The Doctor asked you to come inside, would you go? Probably not. (Unless it was David Tennant, then perhaps.)

That got me thinking about what would make people go with a stranger…

And BAM. An entire two-book concept flooded my brain. I got out of the shower and asked my husband and teenage daughter to listen to the concept and tell me if it was stupid.

They listened, and then my husband said, “I’d see that movie.”

BINGO.
Six months later, I finished the first draft of CONSIDER.
If you could make one book mandatory, what would it be and why?

To Kill a Mockingbird 
for too many reasons.
What are your five favorite books?  You can do authors, if that’s easier.
Like choosing a favorite child!
Here are some of my favorites:
Anything by J.K. Rowling, Shakespeare, and Neil Gaiman
To Kill a Mockingbird
Jane Eyre
Brave New World
I am The Messenger
The Phantom Tollbooth

What 2016 releases are you most excited for?

 
I have two books releasing in 2016, CONSIDER and CONTRIBUTE of the HoloSeries, so that’s just crazy exciting! Here are some other great YA 2016 debuts:
Parker Peevyhouse’s WHERE FUTURES END, Janet Taylor’s INTO THE DIM, Emily Henry’s THE LOVE THAT SPLIT THE WORLD, Mia Siegert’s JERKBAIT and Robin Reul’s MY KIND OF CRAZY.

Thanks, Kristy!

One thought on “Interviewing Kristy Acevedo

Leave a Reply

