Interviewing Amy Fellner Dominy (AND COVER REVEAL!)

Amy Fellner Dominy was kind enough to stop by the blog and discuss Die For You, due out next year.

Before we get started, Amy was also nice enough to let me reveal the cover!

DIE FOR YOU_w tagline and amys WHOLE name

Isn’t that amazing?! I love it.  I love it SO MUCH.  And to give credit where credit is due, who can we thank for it?  Art director Angela Carlino and designer Laura Klynstra!

Okay, now on to Amy!

This is a lot darker than your earlier books.  Was it harder to write, too?

I wouldn’t say it was harder for that reason. I struggle more when I’m not sure exactly what my characters want. In this book, it was very clear to me what Emma and Dillon each wanted—even if those wants took them in unexpected (and darker) directions.

Is there a Twitter pitch for Die For You?

When Emma is given an opportunity to study abroad, Dillon will do anything to keep them together. Anything. #YA #DarkRomance

What was the inspiration for Die For You?

It was a combination of things. I was thinking about Romeo and Juliet and how that story feeds into our idea of “perfect romantic love.” I was also reading headlines about modern-day teens who died because of suicide pacts. I started questioning just how healthy is our idea of love and sacrifice?

Can you share the first sentence/paragraph? 

“Watch out,” Hannah says. “There’s a sweaty guy headed your way.”

I follow her gaze to the baseball diamond and laugh as Dillon hops the low fence surrounding the field and jogs toward the bleachers where Hannah and I are still sitting, along with most of the parents. The team won in the bottom of the ninth, and we’re basking in the victory. My throat aches from screaming. I’ve become one of those girls who jumps up and down and shrieks like a game of baseball is the most important thing in the world.

Of course it’s not.

Dillon Hobbs, on the other hand . . .

He sees me watching and grins. I know that grin.

“Don’t you dare!” I call.

If you could make one book mandatory, what would it be and why?

I think there’s a life-changing book out there for each of us, but I don’t think it’s the same one. That’s why I think we all need to read widely and often because when you do find that book—wow!

What are your five favorite books?  You can do authors, if it’s easier.

Such an impossible question! But here are five books/authors I first met as a teen and then reread over and over—and still revisit nearly every year:

The Lord of the Rings, JRR Tolkien

Jane Eyre, Charlotte Bronte

The Stand, Stephen King

Stories and Poems, Edgar Allen Poe

Watership Down, Richard Adams

What 2016 books are you most looking forward to?

Game of Thrones. (I say that every year.)

Thanks, Amy!

Leave a Reply

