Interviewing Emily Martin

Emily Martin was kind enough to stop by and discuss The Year We Fell Apart, out January 26.

If The Year We Fell Apart were a movie, which would it be?
I don’t think I can pick just one! Maybe a combination of the Notebook and Mean Girls? With a dash of Easy A and a sprinkle of 10 Things I Hate About You for good measure!
If you could tell your high school self one thing, what would it be?
Be kind to yourself, and don’t put up with toxic relationships.
What was the inspiration behind The Year We Fell Apart?
In part, The Year We Fell Apart was inspired by my own high school experiences. I had broken friendships and faced pressures from a lot of different angles. As the story evolved, it was really inspired by the social pressure we all face–whether it’s to fit in with your friends, or to fit with the picture someone else has of you. Harper deals with some tough issues like slut-shaming and underage drinking, which were important for me to explore, as these issues are present in the lives of so many teen girls.
Can you share the first sentence/paragraph?
“Sometimes I think the White Oak tree was listening that night last August. That it knows about the promises we made to each other up in our treehouse. That it knows I kept only half of mine.”
If you could make one book mandatory, what would it be?
For YA readers, I have to say Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta. It’s a book I read at least once a year!
What are your five favorite books?  You can do authors, if that’s easier.
Aside from Melina Marchetta, I love the works of Jandy Nelson, Nina LaCour, and Courtney Summers. And one of my all-time favorite books is F. Scott Fitzgerald’s The Great Gatsby.
What 2016 releases are you looking forward to?
Is it cheating to say all of them??? Seriously, there are so many talented writers debuting it 2016, and I am so excited to read their books! A few excellent debuts that I’ve already had the pleasure of reading are FIRSTS by Laurie Elizabeth Flynn, A STUDY IN CHARLOTTE by Brittany Cavallaro, THE WAY I USED TO BE by Amber Smith, and AFTER THE WOODS by Kim Savage.

Thanks, Emily!

Leave a Reply

