Interviewing Lucy Keating

Lucy Keating stopped by to discuss Dreamology, out April 12!

What’s the Twitter pitch for Dreamology?

What happens when a girl meets the boy of her dreams – literally?
What was the inspiration?
I’ve always had the craziest dreams and sleep patterns – walking, talking, moving stuff around. The older I got the more interested I became in why this was happening, and what it meant. I used to say “sleep is where my crazy comes out.” People tend to focus a lot on the meaning of their dreams, but I am more interested in why we dream at all. I think many of us strive to understand our dreams because we don’t like the loss of control – of creating narratives/scenarios/thoughts in our sleep that we don’t feel responsible for when we’re awake.
I realized there is an interesting metaphor between dreaming and being in love. In both situations we act strangely, perhaps behave in ways we never would otherwise, and when both are over – the dream or the relationship – we ask ourselves “Did that really happen?” Something that felt so real and then is gone. So imagine if you dreamed of a person you felt so close to when you slept, and had no relationship with when you woke up?
Your cover is absolutely stunning. Can you talk about that a little bit?
Because Dreamology is whimsical and at times very trippy, there were a lot of amazing options for this cover, all wild and colorful. This one stuck out to me because of the eyelashes. I just loved using closed lashes as a symbol of a girl dreaming. I’m so glad it made the cut in the end!
Can you share the first sentence/paragraph?
“I am smack-dab in the middle of the Great Hall at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, exactly three feet from the spot where I barfed on my tenth birthday, just outside the Egyptian Wing.”
If you could make one book mandatory, what would it be and why?
Reading The Crucible in middle school made a really big impact on me. It taught me about mob mentality, and the danger of what can happen when nobody speaks up or thinks for themselves. I’ve never forgotten it.
What are your top five favorite books?  You can do authors if that’s easier.
SO HARD! If I could do six, High Fidelity would also be on here.
Where’d you go Bernadette
Eleanor & Park
Middlesex
Just Kids
East of Eden
What 2016 releases are you most excited for?
Every Exquisite Thing
Charlotte Epstein Hates it Here
The Square Root of Summer
Save me, Kurt Cobain
Thanks, Lucy!
Leave a Reply

