Interviewing Marisa Reichardt

Marisa Reichardt was nice enough to stop by and talk about her new book, Underwater (out Jan. 12).

Underwater is your debut novel.  Is anything about the publication process different than you imagined?

Oh, so much. I think the thing that has been the most different from what I expected was how collaborative the editorial process has been. I feel like I won the lottery with my editor, Joy Peskin, who is so very generous and genuine in all of our editorial interactions.

 Who would you cast to play Morgan in a movie or TV show?  (Depending on your ideal medium for Underwater on a screen.)

This might be a cop out but I feel like the actress would have to be a complete unknown. I can’t think about casting Morgan because she’s so visually clear in my head but as a completely made up person. But I’d love to hear whom others would cast as Morgan. J

 What was the inspiration behind Underwater?

Underwater was inspired by my own struggles with anxiety. I wish I’d had a book like Underwater and a character like Morgan to read when I was in high school.

 Can you share the first sentence/paragraph?

I just moved. Not from one town to another, but from one end of the couch to the other end.

If you could make one book mandatory, what would it be and why?

Oh, wow! What a fantastic question. You are really putting a former literature major on the spot here! Do I go classic or not? Okay, I’m just going to go with the book that is nearest and dearest to my heart and say Prep by Curtis Sittenfeld because I want everyone to love it as much as I do.

 What are your five favorite books?  You can do authors, if that’s easier.

Prep by Curtis Sittenfeld; Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov; Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell; The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson; The Tribes of Palos Verdes by Joy Nicholson.

 What 2016 books are you most looking forward to?

I have been lucky enough to read many ARCs by the super talented Sweet Sixteens authors and all I can say is 2016 is going to be an incredible year for debuts. At the moment, I’m still looking forward to Firsts by Laurie Elizabeth Flynn landing in my mailbox, but maybe I’ll have gotten that ARC into my grabby hands by the time this interview posts… Fingers crossed!

Thanks, Marisa!

 

 

Leave a Reply

