Interviewing Lisa Schroeder

Lisa Schroeder was kind enough to stop by and discuss The Girl in the Tower (out March 29).

What’s the twitter pitch for The Girl in the Tower?

 A fairy-tale about a girl, Violet, who grows up in a tower, banished there by an evil queen, and what happens when the queen decides Violet should become a princess, with one condition: she can never see her mother again.
If this were a movie, what would it be?
Rapunzel meets The Princess Diaries
You write many different styles of books. Is there one that feels easier (or less hard)?
Generally, I find middle grade a bit easier to write than YA. Not because it’s any “simpler” of course. I think it’s because my writing voice leans more toward MG, so it’s just a bit more natural for me. I also find verse novels flow more naturally for me, for some reason. I hope to someday write another full-on verse novel. I miss writing that way! It’s just not every idea works in verse, for me anyway.
What was the inspiration for The Girl in the Tower?
I read Kate DiCamillo’s THE MAGICIAN’S ELEPHANT and I loved it so much, I opened my idea journal and wrote down the things I would want to put in a fantasy novel. An evil queen, a pretty garden, a girl that needs help and birds that love her and want to help her. It took about six months for me to find my way into the story, but eventually I did, and I’m so glad.
Can you share the first paragraph?
As Violet hovered in that reflective space between asleep and awake, she reached up to feel for her nose. Thankfully, it was still there. Practically numb, but there. She burrowed deeper under the blankets. Not quite ready to face another day in the dreary tower, she squeezed her eyelids shut. Perhaps she could delay the inevitable by drifting back to sleep and returning to the garden of her dreams.
What were your favorite 2015 releases?
I have a huge stack I’m trying to get through right now, but here are a few I’ve read so far that I loved.
MG: THE WAR THAT SAVED MY LIFE by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley, A HANDFUL OF STARS by Cynthia Lord, A NEARER MOON by Melanie Crowder,
YA: ALL THE RAGE by Courtney Summers, THE GAME OF LOVE AND DEATH by Martha Brockenbrough, AUDACITY by Melanie Crowder, EMMY AND OLIVER by Robin Benway
What 2016 releases are you excited for?
 RAYMIE NIGHTINGALE by Kate DiCamillo, COMMANDER IN CHEESE by Lindsey Leavitt, SUMMER DAYS AND SUMMER NIGHTS edited by Stephanie Perkins, THE GIRL I USED TO BE by April Henry, THE KEY TO EXTRAORDINARY by Natalie Lloyd, THE LOVE THAT SPLIT THE WORLD by Emily Henry
Thanks, Lisa!
Leave a Reply

