Straight Outta Compton & Southpaw

I don’t know if either Straight Outta Compton or Southpaw will be nominated for Academy Awards or be the AFI best of the year, but if not they should be.

(Probably both are more likely for screenplay nods and maybe supporting actor [Compton] and best actor [Southpaw] than director or picture nods).

I’m hoping Southpaw, especially, gets a screenplay nod because it’s written by Kurt Sutter, who did Sons of Anarchy.

Straight Outta Compton was better than I was expecting.  I thought it would be a fun music biopic (with the stunt casting of O’Shea Jackson Jr. playing his father, who we all know better as Ice Cube), but instead, it was really good.  (And incidentally, I want O’Shea Jackson to get a supporting actor nod, please and thank you.)

I remember when NWA was popular, but I never really listened to their music (I was pretty young and have never been a huge fan of rap) and even that didn’t detract from my enjoyment.

It’s a solid movie and a great cast.

And oh God, Southpaw.  My friend Philip came over and we watched it Monday night and it is not an exaggeration that this movie is absolutely shattering.

I don’t want to ruin everything but it’s better to watch this movie with tissues.

I hope Jake Gyllenhaal gets a Best Actor nomination; he inhabited this role like nobody’s business.

Leave a Reply

