Need

Finished Need by Joelle Charbonneau.  I received a copy from the publisher  for review.

Summary (from Goodreads):

“`No one gets something for nothing. We all should know better.’

Teenagers at Wisconsin’s Nottawa High School are drawn deeper into a social networking site that promises to grant their every need . . . regardless of the consequences. Soon the site turns sinister, with simple pranks escalating to malicious crimes. The body count rises. In this chilling YA thriller, the author of the best-selling Testing trilogy examines not only the dark side of social media, but the dark side of human nature.”

I have been a huge fan of Joelle Charbonneau’s since I read The Testing.  My expectations going into this were really high, and they were surpassed.

I love the idea behind this book—who wouldn’t be tempted by a website that will give you what you need?  And all you have to do is one simple thing.  (And initially, all you have to do is invite people to the site, so you certainly can’t pass that up.)

Later, of course, the tasks get harder and worse.

This reminded me a lot of the Stephen King novel Needful Things.  People don’t really think that the pranks they’re doing will cause any harm, but of course they’re wrong.  And the interesting thing is just how quickly things go out of control.

I would’ve guessed that it would take a little bit of time for people to go full on Lord of the Flies, but no.  It isn’t immediate but it’s not too long.  And some of the early actions are pretty awful, too.

This is a fantastic, fun book.  (I’m pretty sure it’s a standalone, although there is definitely room for a sequel or series.)

The only problem is I have no idea when her next book is coming out.

Highly recommended.

One thought on “Need

  1. I wasn’t impressed with this one. I gave it a 2. I had a lot of issues with it in general, but mainly the multiple POVs which I had a really hard time keeping straight until a few of them were “dropped.” And even then I had some trouble remembering who was who. I wasn’t a huge fan of The Testing series, I actually never read Graduation Day. But it wasn’t about me not liking that as much as this just needing more expansion and such for me. Glad you enjoyed it more than I did.

Leave a Reply

