Never Never

First, Captain James Hook stopped by to answer some questions.  I have had many amazing guests on my blog, but this is the first time I’ve hosted a pirate. Best day ever!

What made you decide to tell your story? 

Children spend all their lives believing in Peter Pan, but no one wants their children to believe in me. Peter is a child. He is small and laughing and careless and easy to love. But some children don’t have the souls of fairies and Lost Boys. Some have the souls of pirates. I wanted to tell my story for them.

What do you think the biggest misconception about you is?

That I am heartless. And I suppose, even worse than that, that I am a coward. People see me as vicious and cold and cruel. Only a man with a soul made of stone could so relentlessly go after the life of a boy. But I am a pirate. I love and hate in equal measure. And it doesn’t make me a coward to go desperately after what I want, to fight against the things I hate, to go to battle for the things…and the people…I love.

Do you ever miss being a Lost Boy?

Sometimes. More than that, I miss being who I was before I was Lost at all. I love being a pirate. But I miss…sometimes I miss being a child playing at make-believe in the woods, I suppose.

What are the best and worst things about life in Neverland?

I like being a Dreamer. I like knowing that the pirates are mine, that the ship is mine. I like the stars and the pinpricks of light in the sea. The worst thing about it, when it comes down to it, is that it isn’t…home.

What’s the best part about being a pirate in general and captain in particular?

What isn’t fantastic about piracy? The freedom, the ship, the salt on the sea. The gold, the crew. I’m expected to do what I want, when I want it, and I can. And Peter can’t say a thing about it.

Now on to the rest of the book (including a chance to win your own copy)!

Title: Never Never

Author: Brianna Shrum

Release Date: September 22, 2015

Publisher: Spencer Hill Press

Synopsis: James Hook is a child who only wants to grow up.

NeverNeverFinal

When he meets Peter Pan, a boy who loves to pretend and is intent on never becoming a man, James decides he could try being a child—at least briefly. James joins Peter Pan on a holiday to Neverland, a place of adventure created by children’s dreams, but Neverland is not for the faint of heart. Soon James finds himself longing for home, determined that he is destined to be a man. But Peter refuses to take him back, leaving James trapped in a world just beyond the one he loves. A world where children are to never grow up.

But grow up he does.

And thus begins the epic adventure of a Lost Boy and a Pirate.

This story isn’t about Peter Pan; it’s about the boy whose life he stole. It’s about a man in a world that hates men. It’s about the feared Captain James Hook and his passionate quest to kill the Pan, an impossible feat in a magical land where everyone loves Peter Pan.

Except one.

Click here to enter to win a copy of Never Never! (Good luck!)

Goodreads link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/24517738-never-never?from_search=true

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Never-Brianna-Shrum/dp/1633920399/ref=sr_1_3_twi_pap_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1442691504&sr=8-3&keywords=Never+Never

B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/never-never-brianna-shrum/1121739760?ean=9781633920392

Book Depository: http://www.bookdepository.com/Never-Never-Brianna-Shrum/9781633920392

Kobo: https://store.kobobooks.com/en-us/ebook/never-never-4

IndieBound: http://www.indiebound.org/book/9781633920392

Author Bio and social media links:

 

Brianna Shrum

Author Bio:

Brianna Shrum lives in Colorado with her high-school-sweetheart-turned-husband, two boys, and two big, floppy hound dogs. She thinks chai tea is proof of magic in the world, and loves all things kissy, magical, and strange. She’d totally love to connect with you. You can find her saying ridiculous things on Twitter @briannashrum

Author Social Media Links:

Website: http://briannashrum.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/briannashrum

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/brianna.r.shrum?_rdr

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Never Never

Leave a Reply

