What I Thought Was True

Finished What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick.

Summary (from Goodreads):

“From the acclaimed author of My Life Next Door comes a swoony summertime romance full of expectation and regret, humor and hard questions.

Gwen Castle has never so badly wanted to say good-bye to her island home till now: the summer her Biggest Mistake Ever, Cassidy Somers, takes a job there as the local yard boy. He’s a rich kid from across the bridge in Stony Bay, and she hails from a family of fishermen and housecleaners who keep the island’s summer people happy. Gwen worries a life of cleaning houses will be her fate too, but just when it looks like she’ll never escape her past—or the island—Gwen’s dad gives her some shocking advice. Sparks fly and secret histories unspool as Gwen spends a gorgeous, restless summer struggling to resolve what she thought was true—about the place she lives, the people she loves, and even herself—with what really is.

A magnetic, push-you-pull-me romance with depth, this is for fans of Sarah Dessen, Jenny Han, and Deb Caletti.”

I was a little nervous heading into this because (a) I loved My Life Next Door and (b) this has a lot of mixed reviews.  (And when I say “mixed reviews,” I really mean “people loved this or really hated it.”

This is my least favorite of her novels, but I very much enjoyed it.  I like Gwen (incredibly prickly, more than a little messed up Gwen) and I liked Cassidy (even though he has a girl’s name) and I especially love her cousin Nic.

I love that Huntley Fitzpatrick writes these incredibly realistic YA romances, which is to say that nothing in them is easy.

Recommended.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s