The One Thing

Finished The One Thing by Marci Lyn Curtis.  I received a copy from the publisher for review.

Summary (from Goodreads):

Maggie Sanders might be blind, but she won’t invite anyone to her pity party. Ever since losing her sight six months ago, Maggie’s rebellious streak has taken on a life of its own, culminating with an elaborate school prank. Maggie called it genius. The judge called it illegal.

Now Maggie has a probation officer. But she isn’t interested in rehabilitation, not when she’s still mourning the loss of her professional-soccer dreams, and furious at her so-called friends, who lost interest in her as soon as she could no longer lead the team to victory.

Then Maggie’s whole world is turned upside down. Somehow, incredibly, she can see again. But only one person: Ben, a precocious ten-year-old unlike anyone she’s ever met.Ben’s life isn’t easy, but he doesn’t see limits, only possibilities. After awhile, Maggie starts to realize that losing her sight doesn’t have to mean losing everything she dreamed of. Even if what she’s currently dreaming of is Mason Milton, the infuriatingly attractive lead singer of Maggie’s new favorite band, who just happens to be Ben’s brother.

But when she learns the real reason she can see Ben, Maggie must find the courage to face a once-unimaginable future…before she loses everything she has grown to love.”

I absolutely mainlined this novel before work one day. I had a couple hours to read and figured I’d probably read 150 pages, tops.  (I generally read a few chapters, check email, a few more, check Facebook…)

Instead, I read all but the last 50 pages of this book before having to get ready for work.  I didn’t check email or the internet at all; I just read.  And then after showering and brushing my teeth, I realized I could probably read another 10 pages and get to work on time.  (I read 20 and then went a little over the speed limit.)  And then I read the last 30 pages on my phone under the desk.  (There wasn’t actual work to do.  I maintain this is fine.)

So why am I telling you this?

Because The One Thing is awesome.  Everything about it is awesome.

I especially love Maggie.  She’s prickly and honestly, a bit of a jerk.  She doesn’t really spend time with people since she lost her eyesight (meningitis) and she wasn’t much of a people person before that.  And now she just wants to be left alone.

And then she meets Ben.  I LOVE BEN.  He’s this sweet, smart kid and while yes, he’s little (10), he’s also very wise.  In his own way.

There’s a lot going on in this story but it’s basically summed up as: the story of how Maggie learned how to be okay with herself and also with other people.

Highly recommended.

Leave a Reply

