Every Day

Finished Every Day by David Levithan.

Summary (from Goodreads):

Every day a different body. Every day a different life. Every day in love with the same girl.
There’s never any warning about where it will be or who it will be. A has made peace with that, even established guidelines by which to live: Never get too attached. Avoid being noticed. Do not interfere.

It’s all fine until the morning that A wakes up in the body of Justin and meets Justin’s girlfriend, Rhiannon. From that moment, the rules by which A has been living no longer apply. Because finally A has found someone he wants to be with—day in, day out, day after day.”

You know those books that everyone reads and loves, the kind that you don’t read at first because they can’t possibly be that good? And then you DO read them, for whatever reason, and not only ARE they that good, they’re actually better?  And then you hate yourself for being stupid and not reading them long before you did?

That is the story of Kelly and Every Day: A Love Story.

If you read and loved The Time Traveler’s Wife, this book is for you.  It’s the closest comparison I can think of.  Yes, this is YA and that is adult, but even so.  It’s a love story that cannot be for reasons beyond the couple’s control.

This is a happy and heartbreaking novel, one of those that you will immediately want to re-read (the only reason I’m not is because my next read is its companion novel, Another Day; that’s from Rhiannon’s perspective and I seriously cannot wait).

I read a lot, as you know.  I enjoy most of what I read because I know my tastes really well.  I love a not-small number of books a year.  This has become one of my all-time favorite books, and that’s not something that happens that often.  It’s hard for me to pick my 10 favorites from a year, yes, but my 10 favorites ever? That’s much simpler.  This is now on it.

Highly recommended.

Leave a Reply

