Jessica Darling’s It List #3

Finished Jessica Darling’s It List #3 by Megan McCafferty.

Summary (from Goodreads):

Book 3 in New York Times bestseller Megan McCafferty’s realistic middle grade series, perfect for fans of Dear Dumb Diary, The Popularity Papers, and Wendy Mass’s Willow Falls.

Crazy teachers; best friends turning pretty overnight; “The Unbreakable Laws of Cafeteria Line Cutting”…. Junior high is rough, and Jessica Darling needs help! Enter older sister Bethany and her “It List,” meant to help Jessica uphold “The Darling Domination of Popularity.”

In Jessica Darling’s It List 3, Jessica faces the potentially mortifying outcome of the Top Secret Pineville Junior High Crushability Test. Plus, she’s kind of stuck in the middle, as smarties and skaters unite to collect signatures on a petition to bring back the school’s annual dance. Will the dramarama of seventh grade be Jessica’s downfall? Not if she can help it.”

It’s not a secret that I absolutely love Jessica Darling.  This is my favorite of the middlegrade prequels to her YA/adult series.

If, like me, you are a huge fan of Jess and Marcus Flutie, this is going to be your favorite, too. :)  The two of them are circling around each other for most of this novel, too, but there is a pretty fun development toward the end.  (Still no kissing, but still.)

I also love the fact that we see Hope and Jess really starting to click as friends, and I love seeing that.  (We also get to know Hope’s brother Heath; that’s less fun because, as we learn in Sloppy Firsts, he dies of a drug overdose.)

I love Jessica Darling and I just want more of her life.  (Can we get sequels, maybe? I want to know her as an adult, too!)

This ended on a bit of a cliffhanger, so I hope that there’s at least one more of Bethany’s lists floating around somewhere.

Recommended.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s