Days Like This

Finished Days Like This by Danielle Ellison.  I received a copy from the author for review.

Summary (from Goodreads):

Sometimes the only thing standing between fear and hope is you.

Almost a year ago, nineteen-year-old Cassie Harlen had a lot to deal with. A stack of college acceptance letters waiting for answers, a proposal from the boy next door, and a mother whose most recent bipolar episode left Cassie hurt and confused. Tired of cleaning up the messes caused by her mother’s disorder, of resenting her mother for not being there, and scared of being trapped by an inevitable future—which included marrying Graham Tucker—Cassie did the only thing she could think of to keep from ending up like her mother: she left.

Graham never knew why Cassie walked away. He woke up one morning and she was gone—along with the life that he’d created around her. After eleven months, Graham has a new plan for his future. One that doesn’t involve Cassie Harlen.

When Cassie’s mom nearly burns down her house, Cassie’s forced to return home. Back to a mother she’s tried to ignore and the guy she’s been unable to forget. Graham doesn’t know how he’s going to spend the whole summer living next door to the person who broke his heart without letting those old feelings push through to the surface.

Neither does Cassie.”

Okay, first a disclaimer: I am Danielle Ellison’s publicist at Spencer Hill, and we are friends.  (By which I mean that she is my friend and I am probably like her annoying-as-hell little sister.  As an example, when I heard about this, I whined and begged and pleaded and she let me read the book instead of blocking my email.  Danielle is awesome.)

It’s told from Cassie and Graham’s perspectives in alternating chapters and I absolutely love them both.  If you’ve ever read a love story, it’s pretty clear that they’re going to end up together, but it’s still so fun to see how and how long it takes.  (Because oh wow, this book.  THIS. BOOK.  I want to flail about it but I don’t want to ruin a second of it for you.  So hurry and read this and find me so we can discuss.)

I think this is my favorite NA novel ever.  (And yes, I read Colleen Hoover and Cora Carmack.  And no, not just because I know Danielle.  In fact, if I didn’t know Danielle, this book would make me Twitter-stalk her*)  It’s sweet and wrenching and just perfect.  (AND there will be two companion novels, and I absolutely plan to whine and beg and plead until I can read those two, as well.)

Highly recommended.

* = in a nice way.  I am not scary.

Leave a Reply

