BEA recap (late, I know)

So I probably just had my last BEA until 2017 at the earliest.  (It’s in Chicago next year, and I am going to ALA instead, most likely.  Or, to be more specific, I am definitely going to ALA; I may try and swing BEA, as well.)

This was my second BEA as a publicist (although I still attended as a blogger) and I had a great time seeing my Spencer Hill coworkers and my authors, Liza Wiemer and Danielle Ellison.  (I wish I had gotten to see more of both of them, but it’s hard to spend quality time with anyone at BEA, unless you are in lines with them.)

TUESDAY:

This was the day we arrived.  I got in around 4 and met up with my BEA BFF Kathy and her friends at the Teen Author Carnival.  I got a bunch of great books there (especially the new Laila Sales, Tonight the Streets Are Ours, and This is Where it Ends by Marieke Nijkamp) and then it was time to head to a nearby-ish hotel for a rooftop party thrown by Hannah and Andye…and my author, Liza.  It was going to be her first signing for HELLO? and I got to pass out the books.  :)  And what Liza didn’t know was that everyone had signed another copy of HELLO? for her to keep.  (There was also a gorgeous HELLO? tote that Becca made.)

WEDNESDAY:

First (half) day of BEA!  I got to sleep in (sort of; I was up by 6:30—thanks, me) and met my Spencer Hill coworker Brooke for breakfast and then on to Javits!  Everyone but me was all, TRUTHWITCH!, and I do wish I had gotten it but that line was insane.  No, no, no.

I got a ton of great books but am most excited for George by Alex Gino, A Little In Love by Susan Fletcher (Les Miserables from Eponine’s perspective!) and Kill the Boy Band by Colby Mondavsky (compared to Heathers; take my money).  I also got The Heart is a Muscle the Size of a Fist by Sunil Yapa; it’s apparently the literary debut of next year and the author went to school with a former coworker’s brother. :)  So I’m very excited to get to that.

That night, I had dinner with my biological family and then my birth mom and I went to see Phantom of the Opera.  I’ve seen it a bunch of times and, while this wasn’t the best production I’ve seen, it was still an amazing time.  I’m sad that BEA is moving next year; seeing them is the best part of my BEA.

THURSDAY:

First real day of BEA.  I’d said that my major priority was to get the new Rebecca Serle, and I did.  (And I’ve already read it and it’s wonderful.)

Other bookish highlights: The Killing Kind by Chris Holm, Goodbye Stranger by Rebecca Stead, Lair of Dreams by Libba Bray, Until Beth by Lisa Amowitz.

After, Kathy and I got Shake Shack (AMAZING!) and then met with some Spencer Hill people (Meredith, Liza, Jessica, Rich, Cindy and Lisa) and my author friend Selene!  Selene Castrovilla was super awesome and signed copies of Melt for all of us.  I’ve known her for a while on Facebook and have always known her to be an incredibly kind person and an amazing writer, so it was nice to actually get to see her.  Fun fact: she’s also won all these awards for Melt (a medal, which she showed us at dinner, for the IPPYs, and then a trophy from IndieNext over BEA, so I’m so proud of my friend!).

FRIDAY:

Last day.  It was Liza’s first official signing and I got to help with that, but this year editors helped with signings and not publicists.  (sad face)  I was so happy to see that everyone was excited for HELLO? and that we actually ran out of books.  (The only time I rejoice in that, believe me.)

Bookish highlights: Blood and Salt by Kim Liggett, Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo, Took by Mary Downing Hahn and Need by Joelle Charbonneau.

I say every year that it’s the highlight of the year and this was no exception.  I got so many amazing books (I left with 50, which sounds like a lot, but I know people who got well over a hundred) and got to see almost everyone I really wanted to.

I’m hoping the rumor that it’ll be in Chicago for the next five years isn’t true.

 

Leave a Reply

