The Drop

Finished The Drop by Dennis Lehane.  I received a copy from the publisher for review.

Summary (from Goodreads):

Three days after Christmas, a lonely bartender looking for a reason to live rescues an abused puppy from a trash can and meets a damaged woman looking for something to believe in. As their relationship grows, they cross paths with the Chechen mafia; a man grown dangerous with age and thwarted hopes; two hapless stick-up artists; a very curious cop; and the original owner of the puppy, who wants his dog back. . . .

I am a huge Dennis Lehane fan and have been since I saw the movie Mystic River.  (After the movie ended, I went to the bookstore and bought all his novels up to that point—Mystic River, the Kenzie-Gennaro series (which are my absolute favorites!) and Shutter Island, which I think had just come out.)  Since then, he’s been a must-buy author for me, and I generally try and read his books as quickly as possible.  I’m not sure why The Drop took so long.

This is set in the same neighborhood as Mystic River is, although I don’t think there’s any crossover.  Instead, the link is more of a metaphorical one.  Like in Mystic River, there’s absolutely a fatalistic tone throughout this novel.  I knew something bad was coming, but I didn’t know when and I didn’t know (for sure) who would bear the brunt of it.  I know that’s vague but you really don’t want anything spoiled for yourself.  This book is magic.  Grim magic, but still.

This is a short novel (207 pages) that got made into a movie and I cannot wait to watch it.  (It’s one of James Gandolfini’s final movies.)

Highly recommended.

Leave a Reply

