Ask the Dark

Finished Ask the Dark by Henry Turner.  I received a copy from the publisher for review.

Summary (from Goodreads):

Billy Zeets has a story to tell.

About being a vandal and petty thief.

About missing boys and an elusive killer.

And about what happens if a boy who breaks all the rules is the only person who can piece together the truth.

Gripping and powerful, this masterful debut novel comes to vivid life through the unique voice of a hero as unlikely as he is unforgettable.”

This book is definitely unlike any other I’ve read.

Billy is initially just trying to earn money to save his house (which is about to be foreclosed upon) but then stumbles upon this mystery where other boys his age are disappearing (some are found dead; others show up in pieces…but some are just gone).  The reward is enough to save the house.  That’s definitely enough motivation there, but it quickly becomes personal for him, too.  Because the boys are his age and because he knows some of them and because a friend is a suspect in the disappearance—pick your reason, really; any of them would work.

First, you should be aware that Billy speaks in dialect and that may affect your enjoyment of the book.  (It didn’t take long for me to stop noticing it, however.)

Also, I was warned that this book was really scary.  I wasn’t scared but it’s definitely very creepy.  The last 50 pages or so, especially—I found myself holding my breath over and over.  So maybe have a buddy nearby to remind you to breathe. :)

This is a fun story and I will definitely read the next book Henry Turner puts out.  I didn’t love it, per se, but I was definitely riveted.

Leave a Reply

