Don’t Stay Up Late

Finished Don’t Stay Up Late by R.L. Stine.  I received a copy from the publisher.

Summary (from Goodreads):

R.L. Stine’s hugely successful young adult horror series Fear Street is back after almost 2 decades. Fear Street is a worldwide phenomenon and helped to kick off the young adult craze which is still going strong today. In the second new book in this series, Don’t Stay Up Late, Stine explores the unbridled terror of a damaged young lady sent on a doomed babysitting job.

Ever since a car accident killed her father and put Lisa and her mother into the hospital, Lisa can’t think straight. She’s plagued by nightmares and hallucinations that force her to relive the accident over and over again in vivid detail. When Lisa finds out that a neighbor is looking for a babysitter for her young son, she takes the job immediately, eager to keep busy and shake these disturbing images from her head.

But what promised to be an easy gig turns terrifying when Lisa begins to question exactly who — or what — she is babysitting.”

As I said when the first Fear Street book came out, this absolutely makes my day.  I loved these books when I was younger, and I’m pretty sure that no one writes books that are more fun than R.L. Stine’s.

I absolutely love this book.  It’s kind of goofy in parts, and I’m not entirely sure that it’s going to scare anyone over the age of 10 or so, but I love it.  It’s incredibly fun and I read it in probably three hours, in one manic gulp.  Nostalgia is generally good for at least three stars for me, and this book has it to spare.

I’m not entirely sure why people continue to live (or babysit) on Fear Street.  It seems to be incredibly dangerous for your health (and, in this case, sanity).  But I guess their misery is a small price to pay for the enjoyment I’ve gotten out of these books over the years.  I cannot wait for the third book and I will read it the absolute second I can.

Recommended.

 

Leave a Reply

