Yes Please

Finished Yes Please by Amy Poehler.

Summary (from Goodreads):

In Amy Poehler’s highly anticipated first book, Yes Please, she offers up a big juicy stew of personal stories, funny bits on sex and love and friendship and parenthood and real life advice (some useful, some not so much), like when to be funny and when to be serious. Powered by Amy’s charming and hilarious, biting yet wise voice, Yes Please is a book is full of words to live by.”

I don’t think it’s a surprise to anyone that I am a huge, huge fan of Amy Poehler.  I’d always liked her and then Parks and Recreation pushed it to a whole other level.

I was very excited to get a copy of this for Christmas, and I read it incredibly quickly (given the fact that I had houseguests for most of the time).

Like Martin Short’s memoir (I Must Say), this doesn’t really discuss negative celebrity stories.  I know t hat a lot of the time, the whole fun of these books is the fact that you learn salacious gossip, but I really appreciate the fact that with these two, it’s more “You know that celebrity you hope is really awesome? THEY ARE!”

I don’t want to live in a world where Tina Fey is a jerk.  I’m sorry, I just don’t.

And because of Yes Please, I am now more in love with Amy Poehler, too.  We learn a lot about her time on SNL and on Parks & Rec (more on SNL than Parks, but I think that’s only to be expected).  There’s also a lot of her improv background.  There isn’t very much on her personal life (which has to do with the fact that, as she says in her book, she doesn’t really like people “knowing [her] shit.”)

Highly recommended.

Leave a Reply

