Books To Watch For In 2015: An Interview With Lisa Schroeder

I’m excited to welcome Lisa Schroeder back to the blog to discuss All We Have is Now!
1)  Would you like to know when the world will end?  Followup: how long would you survive in a post-apocalyptic society?
It’s so funny you ask this, because Emerson and Vince have a conversation about knowing versus not knowing in the novel. I’m such an anxious person, it would probably be best for me if I didn’t know. As far as how long would I survive in a post-apocalyptic society, if I had my husband, aka Wilderness Man, with me, probably a long time. Without him, I’m a goner in a matter of days.
2)  What was the inspiration for this novel?
I was thinking about a class in high school where the teacher had us go around the circle and share what we would do if we were told the world would end in 24 hours. What I remember so strongly is how emotional people got as we talked. Like, people were crying, thinking about the relatives they’d want to be with, maybe some they hadn’t seen in a long time or whatever. That memory has stuck with me for a long time, and when I was brainstorming new YA ideas, it wouldn’t leave me alone.
3)  What would your last wish be?
I think I’d want to go to the beach and watch the sunset one last time.
4)  What are you reading now?
I was lucky enough to get an advance review copy of ALL THE BRIGHT PLACES by Jennifer Niven and it is really good!
5)  If you could make one book mandatory, what would it be?
TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD by Harper Lee
6)  What are your five favorite books? (you can do authors if it’s easier)
Five of my favorite YA novels are:
I AM THE MESSENGER by Markus Zusak
THE BOOK THIEF by Markus Zusak
THIS LULLABY by Sarah Dessen
A NORTHERN LIGHT by Jennifer Donnelly
ANNA AND THE FRENCH KISS by Stephanie Perkins
7)  What books are you excited for in 2015?
For YA books, I’m excited about THE WALLS AROUND US by Nova Ren Suma, ALL THE RAGE by Courtney Summers, and THE GAME OF LOVE AND DEATH by Martha Brockenbrough
Leave a Reply

